Chapter 1. Linux Virtual Server Overview

Chapter 1. Linux Virtual Server Overview

1.1. A Basic LVS Configuration
1.1.1. Data Replication and Data Sharing Between Real Servers
1.2. A Three Tiered LVS Configuration
1.3. LVS Scheduling Overview
1.3.1. Scheduling Algorithms
1.3.2. Server Weight and Scheduling
1.4. Routing Methods
1.4.1. NAT Routing
1.4.2. Direct Routing
1.5. Persistence and Firewall Marks
1.5.1. Persistence
1.5.2. Firewall Marks
1.6. LVS Cluster — A Block Diagram
1.6.1. Components of an LVS Cluster

Red Hat Enterprise Linux LVS clustering uses a Linux machine called the active router to send requests from the Internet to a pool of servers. To accomplish this, LVS clusters consist of two basic machine classifications — the LVS routers (one active and one backup) and a pool of real servers which provide the critical services.

The active router serves two roles in the cluster:

The backup router's job is to monitor the active router and assume its role in the event of failure.

Note: This documentation is provided {and copyrighted} by Red Hat®, Inc. and is released via the Open Publication License. The copyright holder has added the further requirement that Distribution of substantively modified versions of this document is prohibited without the explicit permission of the copyright holder. The CentOS project redistributes these original works (in their unmodified form) as a reference for CentOS-4 because CentOS-4 is built from publicly available, open source SRPMS. The documentation is unmodified to be compliant with upstream distribution policy. Neither CentOS-4 nor the CentOS Project are in any way affiliated with or sponsored by Red Hat®, Inc.